Crab bolognese

A friend of mine, GW, invited us over for dinner one night and served us this delicious crab bolognese for dinner. Needless to say, I had to recreate it for myself. And as I was on Joe Wicks’ diet and exercise plan at the time, I substituted spaghetti with courgetti. Sadly, I am now off the Wicks bandwagon but there are hopes to go back on it soon!

I looked high and low for fresh fennel and found some sorry specimens that I had to settle with in Asda. It may have been the depths of winter that made it difficult, as there is fennel galore in the shops now. Also, I made do with tinned crab meat as I didn’t have the foresight to go to the fishmonger’s for fresh crab meat but it still tasted good. The dish is light and savoury and perfect for a warm summer’s evening.

Crab Bolognese

Serves 4

1 red chilli
1 carrot
2 spring onions
1 bulb of fennel
1/2 a bunch of fresh basil, stalks and leaves separated
1 tsp fennel seeds
4 cloves of garlic
2 anchovy fillets
1 lemon, zested
300g crabmeat (brown & white)
White wine
700g passata
Spaghetti for four, or 3 courgettes, spiralized
2 tbsp vegetable oil
Salt and pepper

  1. Place the chilli, carrot, spring onions, fennel, basil stalks and fennel seeds into a food processor with the fennel seeds and grind until finely chopped. Chop the garlic separately.
  2. Heat a pan on moderate high heat. Add the oil and fry the garlic and anchovy fillets until fragrant.
  3. Add the chopped vegetables and stir. Add the lemon zest.
  4. Meanwhile, if you’re using pasta, put it on the boil.
  5. Add the passata, a splash of white wine and brown crab meat, stir and simmer for 5 minutes.
  6. Stir in the white crab meat to warm it up. Squeeze in some lemon juice. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  7. If using courgetti, warm it in the microwave for 2 minutes.
  8. Top piles of spaghetti or courgetti with the crab bolognese and garnish with chopped basil leaves. Enjoy!

 

Tuna tartare take 2

How about settling down to a fresh, light meal on these it’s-so-warm-I-could-pinch-myself days? This is from the same recipe I posted a while ago, only this time I served it on top of crisp multiseed flatbreads to make a more substantial meal for dinner.

It wouldn’t be an overstatement that I felt particularly virtuous chomping this down. Healthy fats from avo, tick. Oily fish brilliant for complexion, tick. Seeds for fibre, tick. Let’s pretend I didn’t have pulled pork in a brioche bun and ribs for lunch shall we?