Salmon Don

DSCN0130

Sometimes I feel like having some Japanese food without making too much of an effort and I go get myself a nice fillet of salmon and some seafood sticks to make a Japanese rice bowl. I know, there’s probably a negligible amount of actual seafood in those red and white sticks but I like the flavour they add to the dish.

I follow this failsafe recipe for sushi rice from aboutfood.com and I get beautifully sticky and flavoured rice every time. Just alter the ratios to suit the amount of rice you will be cooking. If you want to make it simpler, just use plain boiled short grain Japanese rice.

After that, it’s all a matter of assembling other bits of diced vegetables around or on top of your rice aesthetically enough to take a pic fit for a blog before tucking in. Hah. Here I’ve used some pickled daikon, cucumber and cooked beetroot and topped my rice with Nagatanien’s otanano furikake wasabi (wasabi-flavoured rice seasoning) and also later on added some torn up bits of nori sheets because I lurve my seaweed. I also had a little dish of soy sauce with wasabi to dip my salmon in and a bowl of miso soup on the side. It was such a good midweek dinner!

DSCN0131

2 thoughts on “Salmon Don

    • Thank you! I’m sure you can swap it if you’re using just boiled brown rice. If you’re making flavoured rice like I did, I think the texture might end up quite wet compared to the starchy shortgrain white rice which soaks up the seasoning and becomes sticky rather than wet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

