Chocolate Mug Cake

Mug cake 1

Last night I craved something warm and comforting for dinner and made meatballs in a clear broth ladled over white rice. Simple, delicious and filling. Then somewhere along the evening I had this sudden craving for a rich chocolate-y dessert. So much for the healthy dinner! It was literally freezing outside and I wasn’t insane enough to bundle up in multiple layers and venture out and I fretted for a bit at my first world problem until I had this lightbulb moment. I was in Chesterfield last week for a very sad occasion and popped into the local Waterstone’s to while away some time and happened across this microwave mug cake book. Totally random that I remembered this, so after quick search on the internet I found this recipe and voila! My first ever microwave mug cake – except mine was in a bowl as the mix was plenty generous for a mug and quite a few reviews mentioned their cups literally runneth over with cake mix. Use a bowl that will contain the mix so that it comes halfway up the level of the bowl. The great benefit of this method of whipping up a cake is that it is so quick and easy to make and you’ll more than likely have all the ingredients in your kitchen cupboard already. Prep time and cooking time inclusive, mine took no more than 10 minutes to make! Beware to not overcook it as microwaved food can get dry and tough very easily. The cake must also be eaten fresh as again, it will get dry quickly. Below is my modified version of the recipe.

Mug cake 2

Chocolate Mug Cake

Serves 2

4 tbsp self-raising flour
3 tbsp caster sugar
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 medium egg
3 tbsp milk
3 tbsp sunflower oil
A few drops vanilla essence
A handful of chopped nuts (I used pecans)
A pinch of salt

  1. Add the flour, sugar, cocoa powder and salt to the bowl and mix well.
  2. Add the egg into the mixture and mix well, don’t worry about having some dry bits left.
  3. Add the milk, oil and vanilla essence and mix well.
  4. Stir in the nuts.
  5. Pop it into the middle of the microwave and cook on full power for 3 minutes. The cake is done when a skewer inserted comes out clean.
    Notes: My microwave is only a 700w microwave so if you have a more powerful one, make sure you reduce the cooking time. The cake turned out to be more of a chocolate sponge than a rich dense cake but other recipes use butter and melted dark chocolate which I suspect will lead to a richer cake, but this wasn’t too bad for a first attempt!

Mug cake 3

In case you were wondering, that is me snuggled under my woollen blanket with a whole bowl of chocolate cake on my lap. Yes indeedy.

 

Leave a Reply

