Chocolate chip cookies

Choc chip cookies 1After reading this post on hitherandthither I developed this craving for homemade choc chip cookies. I mean, not a lot of things can beat the smell of freshly baked cookies in the oven wafting through the house, can they? And I do agree with Ashley, I like my cookies to be lovely and crispy around the edges but soft and chewy in the middle.

The recipe for these cookies can be found here. I made some adjustments again! Some of the comments mentioned to halve the amount of chocolate chips and I did that initially but found the cookies to be too sparsely populated. And the level of sweetness probably wouldn’t suffer by halving the amount of granulated sugar to 40g or replacing that completely with 120g of light brown sugar. I only managed to get small measly cookies with teaspoon dollops so on subsequent batches I used a whole heaped tablespoon of batter for each cookie and just pressed down the ball of batter into a thick disc on the baking parchment. You’d get about 16 or so jumbo-sized cookies. I used a 170 degree Celcius fan oven and baked them for 14 minutes. Remove them from the oven when they’ve gone a light brown shade all over, and they’ll still be lovely and chewy inside.

The milk in a glass was only for show! It was too cold, and Earl Grey was so much better in offsetting the sweetness of the cookies. Choc chip cookies 2

Leave a Reply

