Croatia 8-15 Oct 2011

Time seems to contract and expand at will while you’re on holiday. It starts off at a leisurely pace, gathers up some speed in the middle and fairly sprints to the finishing line by the end of it. And yet while I’m in the middle of it, it seems so long ago that I walked the streets of Split or went sailing off Hvar, when in reality it was only a few days ago. I’m struggling to express myself. I think it’s the sheer volume of new experiences crammed into such a short period of time that the mind in order to fit it all in just has to stretch time out. Make sense much?

Croatia was the first holiday with friends after many years. I needed this trip. To recharge and relax. To cherish old friendships and foster new ones. Instead of planning the itinerary like crazy and cramming in as much to see and do as possible, I let go and just went with the flow (most of the time!). That worked. I had one of the best holidays of my life, and realised I hadn’t smiled or laughed so much in a long time. I’ve got so much to share and don’t know where to start! So we’ll begin at the beginning, as the King said to the White Rabbit.

Leave a Reply

