Porridge

Yesterday I broke my Asian health kick with a meal at McDonald’s. Boo. I lay the blame squarely on my work colleague, YY. Ah well, one can’t be good everyday. I think a bit of naughtiness occasionally makes the good good-er anyway!

I’ve made two trips in a week to my local Chinese shop to top up my supplies. I was so chuffed to find salted eggs and century eggs in the fridge section! I’ve been craving them for ages and didn’t get a chance to eat them when I was home recently.

This was a really easy lunch to make, with enough leftovers for dinner. The porridge/congee was quicker to cook than I realized, so I had to rush to cook the rest of the side dishes but all was good in the end. At least the porridge was just reasonably hot, not burn-your-tongue hot when we sat down for lunch.

Porridge is kind of like tofu. Its simple blandness makes for a great background to anything  stronger flavoured you want to add to it.

I had mine with stir-fried minced pork, salted egg, Chinese sausage, salted radish, omelette with both the sausage and salted radish, spring onions, and fried shallots.

This is my really simple recipe for making Cantonese-style porridge. There’s no exact science to it, but my mum taught me to halve the amount of rice you would normally cook when cooking porridge. Then top with lots of water. You can always add more water periodically if it gets too thick. If anyone knows of the actual process of making the porridge smooth (blending?) please let me know!

Porridge

Makes 4 to 5 large bowls

1 3/4 cups rice (my rice cup measures about 170mls of liquid), washed and rinsed several times

2.5 litres of water

  1. Boil the rice in the water until the rice becomes soft. Stir occasionally, especially the bottom of the pot to make sure none of it sticks and burns.
  2. Use an egg whisk to break up the rice grains into smaller pieces. Great upper arm workout! Add some water if the porridge is too thick.
  3. It will take about 30 minutes to cook in total.
  4. Serve topped with sesame oil, some chopped spring onions and a dash of white pepper.
  5. When reheating the extra, add just a splash of water before stirring up the thickened porridge.
Leave a Reply

