Siamese Laksa

This is my mum’s specialty – Siamese Laksa. I thought it deserved a post of its own since it’s on my compulsory things-to-eat list when I go home. This is my dad’s bowl, dainty if you compared it to the portion sizes my brother and I had. We had to transfer our laksa to larger bowls out of necessity, there was no space to eat out of from our original bowls! The soup base is made with a dried chilli paste which is then cooked with fresh coconut milk. Portions of chicken on bone are boiled in the laksa soup. The noodles are dried rice noodles soaked in hot water to soften them. Condiments include bean sprouts, shredded cucumber, sliced ginger flower/torch ginger bud (bunga kantan), mint leaves and fried pounded dried prawns. I’m sorry I didn’t get a picture of my larger portion size, I was too busy wolfing it down. I’m salivating already just thinking about it!

2 thoughts on “Siamese Laksa

Leave a Reply

