Pineapple Tarts

This year marks my first foray into pineapple tart baking, previously belonging only to the sacred territory of my mother. In honour of the Malaysian tradition of having pineapple tarts during Chinese New Year (which is this Sunday) I thought I’d give it a go.

You know how some people are cooks and some are bakers? Well I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m a cook. Baking I find is just a little too stressful. With cooking you can tweak things along the way, adding a little bit of this and a little bit of that, tasting as you go along. With baking you mix everything up into a bowl and there’s no way of knowing if it will turn out right as you leave it to the God of Dry Heat to work his magic. You look anxiously through the oven door and pray that everything will turn out okay. And what happens if you overmix your batter or overknead your pastry? You’re scr*w*d that’s what.

Anyway here are some pictures of the pineapple tarts/cookies I made. They look a bit rough and ready but taste pretty good. Must be all that praying I did along the way.

If any of you are making pineapple tarts this year, good luck! May the God of Dry Heat smile upon you.

Leave a Reply

